Travel to EU countries and Brexit

Which EU countries are included in the Schengen area

passport holder

By Nagging Mum

 Currently British travellers can travel to any EU country in the Schengen Area without restrictions, however these are the countries where you will now need six months validity on your passport after Brexit. I’ve compiled a list of the countries below to help you out, I don’t want anyone to miss your holiday.

 Schengen Area

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

EU countries outside of the Schengen area

Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania. These countries will have their own entry requirements. Please check these before you travel, I don’t want you to miss out on your holiday.


Travel to Ireland will remain the same after Brexit. Officially you just need some form on valid ID, but I would take your passport just in case.

If you have less than six months on your passport from the date of your first flight, then you need to renew your passport now. The passport office will get very busy with lots of people in a similar position.

Never lose your passport again